Update on The Nine Godheads

So apparently, two translators have already released chapters of ‘The Nine Godheads’.

I did not catch this because I did not check novelupdates, because I did not search it up, and because someone had e-mailed me wanting to pick it up and was already about to release, so I assumed there was no other translator.

I’d just like to talk about them a bit, and please note that the purpose behind my words is not to put down any translator or their translations, but to just spread some light as a fellow translator.

Site 1: euphmoria.wordpress.com
2 releases – Chapters 7-8
My opinion and commentary: Chapters were released on this site at the end of April. Supposedly, the translator is supposed to be doing regular releases, but after two chapters, I see no more activity after more than a month now. There are no updates from the translator either, leaving many to question whether The Nine Godheads is up for grabs or no.

Site 2: loathsometranslations.wordpress.com
3 releases – Chapters 7-9
My opinion and commentary: Chapters were released yesterday, and it seems that this translator is determined to work on it (although that’s how it seemed for site 1).

If Site 1 is MIA for good, then of course you readers will go to Site 2. However, it is true that Site 2 is machine translated, and I’m sure people who have already read know that. Therefore, you are aware that you may not be getting all of the story, or all of it accurately.
Which would I recommend for reading pleasure? Site 1, because I have compared the two sites’ chapters, and certain details that contribute much to the style of the author are lost in Site 2. Of course, there’s also the issue of accuracy. With Site 1, it is accurate and well-written. With Site 2, readers will still be able to get an accurate gist of the story, although confusions may occur.
I am in no way trying to put down Site 2. In fact, I respect and admire his efforts for trying to translate and work on two unfamiliar/shaky languages despite his nationality/environment, as well as his determination to learn and prove. Unfortunately, The Nine Godheads features a lot of colloquial language from a certain dialect and a whole bunch of idioms that machine translate really cannot help make sense of. The words in dialect in particular are hard to make sense of if you cannot search the internet and read in Chinese. Furthermore, I think the author has a unique style that is very enjoyable, but cannot be conveyed due to the limits of machine translation. But… Site 1 does not look like it’s active anymore.
In any case, here’s my final say – if you care about accuracy and proper conveyance, read Site 1 and hope he continues translating. If you don’t, read Site 2, who has just released several chapters for your pleasure. All of this is just my opinion, and take it as you’d like.

Finally, since I’ve read up to chapter 116 (or somewhere around there), if you are confused about any concept or something, feel free to send me an e-mail or make a comment. I’ll try my best to explain (although you could also just start a thread on forum.novelupdates.com and tag me @ceruleonice so I would answer).

P.S. There was actually someone who e-mailed me wanting to pick this novel up and was already going to release. He was going to release on this site, but I couldn’t help him with donations because I didn’t know how to. After that, he didn’t contact me anymore regarding released he wanted to make on my site because I think the donations aspect was important to him. Oh well. I don’t think he’s the same guy as the one who just released on his own site either, so…. yep. I don’t know what’s going on.

4 thoughts on “Update on The Nine Godheads

  1. Yep, it wasn’t me asking to release on your site 😀 And i agree that my translations are pretty bad, but i still want to do them 🙂 Of course people are free to like, or dislike them, but i just wanted to give back to CN community

    Like

Comment all you'd like, use asterisks for heavy cussing, and NO SPOILERS. Thanks